Redpoint Interaction v7.x Documentation

Getting started with User Groups

Overview

Existing user groups are displayed alphabetically in a grid.

att_1_for_3861053466.png

For each user group, the following read-only properties are displayed:

  • Group name

  • Description

  • Active: a checkmark ( check mark ) or an “x” ( cross mark ) to indicate whether the user group is active

Refer to Users and user groups in the Getting Started guide for instructions on creating and modifying user groups.

Selected Group Permissions

The selected user group's associated permissions are listed in alphabetical order within a grid at the bottom of the interface.

att_2_for_3861053466.png

The following read-only properties are displayed for each permission:

  • Permission name

  • Description

Inactive permissions are displayed using red text.

Read-only permissions

Config access within a user group is generally binary: a group either has access to a functional area or they don't. However, RPI provides read-only access for specific config functional areas: Channels, Catalog, and Joins. These appear as their own rows, named:

  • Configuration - Channels - Read-only

  • Configuration - Catalog - Read-only

  • Configuration - Joins - Read-only

Each has a description in the list explaining that it grants read-only access to that configuration interface.

If a group has both the full edit permission and the read-only permission for the same area, full edit access takes precedence.

Predefined user groups

RPI supplies three predefined system user groups that are read-only and cannot be deleted:

  • System Administrators: associated with all functional permissions.

  • Integration API: grants access to authenticate against and call the Integration API.

  • Everyone: associated with no functional permissions.

You cannot add a user group with the same name as a predefined user group.

By default, a newly-created user is added automatically to the Integration API and Everyone user groups.

It is not possible to remove a user from the Everyone user group.

Organization node user groups

When you save changes to the organization’s hierarchy nodes, RPI creates, modifies, or deletes parallel organization node user groups to ensure that one such user group exists for each hierarchy node.

Organization node user groups cannot be added, edited, or deleted from the User Group configuration interface.

An organization node user group follows the naming convention “Organization – Node – [Node Name]”. It description is set to “Hierarchy: [Hierarchy Name] Node: [Node Name]”.

By associating a user with an organization node user group, you effectively limit the user’s access to interactions to only those that are linked to the parallel hierarchy node(s) (or linked nodes).

When a user linked to one or more organization node user groups creates an interaction, that file is linked automatically to the matching organization hierarchy nodes.

Non-accessible interactions are visible within the File System Dialog; however, an attempt to open such a file results in a warning message. In addition, organization node user groups can be used in the same way as any other user groups to restrict access to RPI file system folders using the Folder Permissions dialog. For further information please see the RPI Framework documentation.

The System Administrators group has complete access to all organization node user groups. Similarly, linkage to organization node user groups does not compromise a configuration user’s ability to manage the structure of the organization.

Last updated: